We are here to assist you in every way possible. In order to make the transition easier for those interested in our program, we have created a Questions & Answers tab. If you have additional inquiries, please call us at 305-328-0033. Thank you.
1) Why are there other Security schools that offer the same courses for a lower fee?
Unfortunately there are many "security schools" that offer security courses without providing proper training and/or curriculum. These "schools" will normally schedule a course for you any time of the day at any time of the week because they do not provide a scheduled full curriculum. They normally have you complete the courses in less than half of the required time. Most of these schools are either under investigation or simply not accredited anymore. Be aware that Security Companies hiring security officers will find out where your training was acquired and may not consider you for a position if you received your certification at one of these schools. The reason why these schools charge so much less, is because they provide much less in less hours. We are accredited by the Florida Department of Education in addition to Licensure by the Division of Licensing. Our Security Company was established in 2004 and our Security Academy in 2009.
2) What is the difference between the "D" and "G" License?
The "D" License is the licensing required to work as an unarmed security officer in the State of Florida. This is the basic first level license, which consists of a 40 hour course. You must process this license in order to obtain the second level license ("G" License).
The "G" License is the licensing required to work as an armed security officer in the State of Florida. This is the second level license, which consists of an additional 28 hour course. This license requires gun range time on the last day of training, as required by the State of Florida.
3) May I complete the "G" License course before the "D" License course?
Yes, but you may not submit the "G" license state application before the "D" license state application. In other words, you may choose to complete either course first, but you must either submit both licenses together to the Division of Licensing or submit the "D" license first. The Division of Licensing will not accept your "G" license application if you have not submitted the "D" license first, or along with it.
4) What is the difference between the "D" 16 Hour Course and the "D" 40 Hour Course?
Prior to January 1st, 2012, the Division of Licensing allowed students to complete a 24 Hour segment of the 40 Hours of training in order to obtain their permanent license. However, in order to maintain their license active, the additional 16 hours of training had to be completed within the following 180 days (6 months). Otherwise, the license was subject to suspension. In order to become licensed under today's gudelines, a student MUST complete a 40 hour course.
5) Will there be a test for the "D" and "G" License courses?
Yes, the "D" License course requires two tests. One test will be administered on the third day. This test will be based on the material covered on the first 3 days (24 hours) of training and it consists of 100 multiple choice/true or false questions. The second test will be administered on the fifth day. This test will be based on the material covered on the last 2 days (16 hours) of training and it consists of 70 multiple choice/tru or false questions. A passing score of 75% is required.
The "G" License course requires two tests as welll, however one test will be a written one and the other will be a shooting test at the gun range. Both tests will be administered by the "K" Licensed Firearms Instructor.
6) What time of the day are the classes offered?
The "D" license course is always scheduled from 9:30 am to 5:30 pm. The "G" Liicense course consists of a similar schedule.
7) Are the courses offered in spanish?
Yes, our licensed instructors are bilingual and we offer the course material in both languages.
8) Are there additional fees in order to process my security officer's license?
Yes, the State of Florida requires a one time fee of $97.75 payable to the Division of Licensing for the "D" Unarmed Security License. In the case of the "G" Armed Security License, the fee is $112.00 (if your "D" license was issued in the last 6 months), or $164.50 (if your "D" license was issued more than 6 months ago. Also, the State fee for the Concealed Weapon Permit is $97.00.